The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) replaced the Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards NSW (BOSTES) on 1 January 2017.

NESA sets and monitors quality teaching, learning, assessment and school standards. This includes responsibility, across NSW public, Catholic and independent schools, for:

  • Kindergarten to Year 12 curriculum
  • accreditation of teachers and teaching degrees
  • the internationally recognised HSC
  • school registration and home schooling.

NESA has produced a number of resources designed to help parents understand the minimum standard requirements around NAPLAN.

Students in NSW will need a minimum standard of literacy and numeracy to receive the HSC from 2020.




%d bloggers like this: